Congrats to a Good Friend

June 16, 2010
7:46 AM

Having just returned from a glorious 2-week vacation, I’m excited to be back home and back to work. But, before I return to my thoughts on excellence, I want to send congratulations to worship team member and dear friend, Roy Tinker on the marriage to Adrienne. It was their marriage that inspired us to drive all the way to Topeka, Kansas. Wouldn’t you agree that they are a beautiful couple? I had the privilege of witnessing their uniting in marriage and I am very excited for all that God has in store for their lives together.

Roy and I met probably about 10 years ago when he was a high school student, new to Trinity Church. A few years later he did an internship with me, which included fellowshipping together daily, praying together, planning worship sets, leading worship for our Trinity family, and even leading worship together for some missionaries in France. Roy’s love for the Lord and for the Scriptures became and continues to be an inspiration and encouragement to me. I’ve grown to love and respect him as a friend and brother and I couldn’t be happier that he has found a kindred spirit in Adrienne. She has a treasure in her newly acquired husband. And I know that she is also a treasure to him. God is so good!

I wrote a song 15 years ago that captured the joy when a woman of God is joined in marriage to a man of God. I wrote it in celebration of my best friend, Dave, and his bride, Stefani, who came together with the greater purpose to honor the Lord in their marriage. I also was preparing to propose to my sweetheart, Julie Ann, at the time, so the chorus about the woman of God reflects the Proverbs 31 qualities I saw in my own future wife. I consider it one of my best songs because its choruses flow from Scripture, capturing the character of my wife Julie as well as the character I aspire for myself as a man of God. I post it here in celebration of my 14th wedding anniversary next week. The Hand You Hold

Back to our Kansas experience, one of the unexpected blessings that we had was meeting Adrienne’s church family and finding that they were indeed our own. We met many folks from the Halpin’s church family and witnessed the sweet fragrance of Christ. How beautiful is the body of Christ! Where else can you drive up to a stranger’s house, knock on their door and immediately be welcomed as family? Adrienne’s parents arranged for our family to stay with Shawn & Tonya Schwensen. Shawn is the worship pastor of their church. It was a joy to fellowship with these kindred spirits! Our kids became immediate friends, as did we. Shawn and I talked a fair deal about worship leading and traded some favorite worship songs. I grew to respect him as a good husband, father, worker and servant to the body of Christ. We hope to return the hospitality and host them here in Redlands some time soon.

“May the grace of the Lord Jesus Christ, and the love of God, and the fellowship of the Holy Spirit
be with you all.” (2 Corinthians 13:14 NIV)

As we experience the grace, love and fellowship of our triune God, may these things be the characteristics that overflow into the lives of those we meet. Hospitality is a great way to share what God has given to us. Thanks Lord, Jesus for our experience with our extended family and for the beauty of your presence in them. Continue to bless the fellowship of your church that gathers as The Lion and The Lamb Church in Topeka, Kansas.

bill-signature
Bill Born

About bornfun

I'm married with 4 kids, an orange farmer, a pastor and worship leader at Trinity Church. I love God and I love people. I seek to be wholly devoted to the glory of God, living all of my life as worship to Him.
This entry was posted in Bill's Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment