Best Message I’ve Heard on Christ and the Cross

May 29, 2013
8:02 AM

A little over a month ago I attended a conference called The Gospel Coalition with our Senior Pastor, Gary Inrig. I came praying that the Lord would speak to me as I drew near to him in worship, in his Word, and in fellowship. And he did. I thrived during this time with him, released from home & work responsibilities for a season. I tremendously enjoyed my time with Gary talking over meals, in between sessions and in our room. I am sad thinking that our time as partners in ministry at Trinity is coming to an end. At the same time I am deeply grateful for all that God has blessed me with through Gary – his teaching, his leadership and his friendship.

Each general session was inspiring, highlighting the robust expositional teaching of God’s Word, and boy was there great teaching! (Worth checking out here.) My heart was inspired by and awed at the revelation of our Great God and Savior Jesus Christ, moved to action, my soul satisfied, yet inspired to hunger for more, my mind challenged, my hope stirred and my faith strengthened. Perhaps the best session was the teaching on Christ’s death by an older Irishman named Gary Millar. I have never heard such a stirring, complete and clear summary of the greatness of Christ, his purpose in giving his life on the cross, and our great need for what transpired there. It is a message that brings clarity and a compelling reason to believe! When Gary Millar finished speaking, I sat in stunned silence. Tim Keller said that a good sermon goes beyond teaching and can be measured when people stop taking notes. That certainly happened to me!

[custom-field key=”Vimeo”]

bill-signature
Bill Born

About bornfun

I'm married with 4 kids, an orange farmer, a pastor and worship leader at Trinity Church. I love God and I love people. I seek to be wholly devoted to the glory of God, living all of my life as worship to Him.
This entry was posted in Evangelism, Spirituality and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

